Figures and statistics after Morocco vs France

Figures and statistics after Morocco vs France; Even with the 2-0 loss against France, Morocco wrote one of the finest pages in history, being the first Arab and African team to contest the semi-finals of the World Cup, and still have a chance to finish third when facing Croatia.

The following are figures and statistics from France’s 2-0 win over Morocco in the FIFA World Cup semi-final Qatar 2022TM:

– France’s first team to qualify for two consecutive World Cup finals since Brazil in 2002, and the first European team to do so from Germany in 1990.

– This defeat ended Morocco’s run of non-loss (6-wins. 3 draws), their first loss since the 0-1 group stage loss in 2018.

– France has qualified for the World Cup final for the fourth time and all since 1998 (1998, 2006, 2018, and 2022), double the number of finals of any national team during this period.

– Didi Deschamps is the fourth coach to lead his country as back-to-back World Cup finalists, after Vitorio Pozo with Italy (1934, 1938), Carlos Pilardo (1986, 1990), and Franz Beckenbauer with Germany (1986, 1990).

– The African teams lost in 10 of their 13 World Cup knockout games against the European teams (2 draw winners). Morocco was the exception twice during this series at the World Cup 2022, drawing a negative draw with Spain in the round of 16 and outscoring Portugal in the quarter-finals.

– France has won all seven of its matches in the knockout stages since the beginning of the 2018 edition. In the history of the World Cup, only Brazil had successive wins in these roles between 1958 and 1970 (9) (excluding the first and second group stages and counting the play-offs in these roles).

– Theo Hernández’s opening goal (4:39) is France’s fastest World Cup goal since Bernard Lacombe’s goal against Italy in 1978 (1 minute) and the quickest semi-final goal since 1958 since Vava’s goal for Brazil against France (2 minutes).

– Randall Kolo Mwani scored the third fastest goal for a substitute player in World Cup history (44 seconds) after Ippo Sand for Denmark against Nigeria in 1998 (26 seconds) and Richard Morales for Uruguay against Senegal in 2002 (16 seconds).

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!