MLS-Major League Soccer

MLS-Major League Soccer

The MLS-Major League Soccer is a men’s professional soccer league sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation, which represents the sport’s highest level in the United States. The league consists of 24 teams, 21 from the United States and 3 from Canada. The League represents the highest football authority in both the United States and Canada across all clubs.

Competition System

The MLS-Major League Soccer season runs from March to October. Teams are geographically divided into Eastern and Western conferences, where they play 34 games in a partially balanced schedule. In 2019, with 24 teams, each team plays two games (Domestically and externally) against teams in his conference and one game against each team from the opposite conference in the middle of the season, teams break with the annual All-Star Game, a showcase game between the best players in the league and a big club from a different league at the end of the regular season, giving a team with the highest total prize points to supporters and home field advantage throughout the playoffs.

Unlike most major soccer leagues around the world, but similar to other leagues in the Americas, the multilateral league season is followed by knockout leagues. Fourteen teams participate in qualifying for the MLS Cup in October, which ends with the MLS Cup Championship match in early November.

Major American League spring-to-autumn schedule results in scheduling clashes with the FIFA calendar and with summer international tournaments such as the World Cup and CONCACAF Gold Cup causing many players to lose some league games while MLS looked at the change to a format from start to spring, there are no current plans to do so. If the league has to change its schedule, there will still be a big winter break because of the difference in harsh winter climates. She will also have to compete with the popularity and media presence of the NFL in the fall and winter seasons as well as the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the National Hockey Association (NHL), which both compete in spring schedules.

The Teams

MLS-Major League Soccer
MLS-Major League Soccer

24 teams from MLS-Major League Soccer are divided between the Eastern and Western conferences. Each club is allowed a maximum of 28 players on its first team list. All 28 players are eligible for selection for each team with 18 players on the day of play during the regular season and qualifiers.

The league has expanded regularly since the 2005 season. The league plans to expand to 27 teams with the addition of Inter Miami FC, Club Nashville in 2020, and Club Austin in 2021, with additional plans to expand to 28 teams by 2022 and 30 teams later. Major League Soccer is currently the world’s largest professional football league.

MLS, teams were given nicknames(e.g., Columbus Crew, Los Angeles Galaxy, New England Revolution). Many clubs are named in MLS from previous professional soccer clubs, such as the 1970s-era NASL team names San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders, Portland Timbers, and Vancouver Whitecaps.

D.C. United and Miami Fusion FC were the only two MLS teams to adopt European naming conventions during the 1990s. In recent years, European-style names have become increasingly common in MLS, with expansion teams such as Real Salt Lake, Toronto FC, New York City FC, Atlanta United FC, Minnesota United FC, and FC Cincinnati, along with rebranding such as FC Dallas (formerly the Dallas Burn), Sporting Kansas City (formerly the Kansas City Wizards) and CF Montréal (formerly the Montreal Impact).

Austrian beverage company Red Bull GmbH owns and sponsors the New York Red Bulls as well as other sports teams outside the U.S.

league championship

At the end of the 2018 season, 26 different clubs competed in the league, with at least 13 winning the MLS Cup, 12 winning at least one supporter and the two sides winning the same year on seven occasions (the two clubs achieved twice).

For more information please visit

Table of Contents

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!